Monkey’s Jumping on the Bed Cake

2 05 2010

My son just recently turned 1. To honor the special occasion I decided to make a cake with one of his favorite animals, monkeys. Now this was only my second attempt at making a fondant style cake so cut me a little slack :) I’ll have to say that even though it took several hours to complete, I had a lot of fun doing it and would probably do it again…

I had to reach way back into my repertoire of skills and pull something I haven’t used since high school art class – modeling. Although this time instead of clay I tried my hand at both gum paste as well as marzipan. The marzipan ending up working the best for what I needed. I think gum paste must be more for 2 dimensional items. Needless to say, I ended up making 2 monkeys and a bed of cake comprised of 4 layers. 2 of the layers were chocolate chip and the other 2 were snickerdoodle. I made vanilla buttercream filling with chocolate buttercream on the outside which was then covered in fondant. I carved rice krispy treats into pillows and covered those with fondant as well.

One thing is for sure, the cake shows on tv make it look easy…Speaking of tv shows, it’s kind of like CSI…there are a lot of steps and a lot of time involved in the process that you dont see on TV. It just means that if you are going to ever get involved with Cake decorating as a hobby, or crime scene investigating for that matter..you’ll need a lot of time and more than a little patience.

Actions

Information

One response

3 05 2010
cassie pousson

GREAT JOB!! I really like this. what a cool idea. I can only imagine the future birthday cakes Caden will have :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

